Our first priority is the health, wellness and safety of everyone who walks through our doors.

Bryn Mawr Medical Specialists Association is open for medically necessary office visits and procedures only. BMMSA as a corporation is taking all necessary precautions and following public health safety guidelines in regards to the COVID-19 pandemic.

TeleMedicine appointments are now available. Please contact your physicians office for eligibility, additional information, and with any concerns or questions.

If you are scheduled for an appointment with one of our doctors, we request that you call our office to reschedule your appointment if the answer is yes to any of the following questions:

  • Do you have a cough?
  • Do you have a fever?
  • Do you have any flu-like symptoms?
  • Do you have diarrhea?
  • Have you have traveled internationally in the past 14 days?
  • Have you had close contact with anyone who has traveled internationally in the past 14 days?

We encourage all of our patients to visit the CDC website and Main Line Health COVID-19 Response website to read more about everyday preventative measures and for the most up to date guidance regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19). If you are concerned that you may have the Coronavirus (COVID-19), please contact your local Health Departments.

If you have any questions regarding our policy and your appointment, please call your doctor’s office.

Caroline M. Groft-MacFarlane, M.D., Ph.D.



Bryn Mawr Medical Arts Pavilion
825 Old Lancaster Road
Suite 440
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010

6 Lancaster Ave.
Wynnewood, PA 19096

Phone: (610) 642-1090
Fax: (610) 658-5861

Education & Training


  • 1993-97 – B.A., Wellesley College (Biology)
  • 1998-02 – Ph.D.,The Rockefeller University (Molecular Biophysics)
  • 2002-06 – M.D., Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Postgraduate Training and Fellowship Appointments

  • 2006-07 – Intern in Medicine, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York City
  • 2007-Present – Residency in Dermatology, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Awards, Honors and Membership in Honorary, Professional and Scientific Societies

  • 2005-06 – Admissions Committee, Cornell Medical College
  • 2006 – Alpha Omega Alpha
  • 2007 – Member, Housestaff Committee, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2007 – Member, American Academy of Dermatology
  • 2008 – AAD Travel Scholarship awardee, to the Chilean national dermatology meeting SOCHIDERM
  • 2009 – Volunteerism Committee, American Academy of Dermatology


  • Yun S, Groft C, Jambusaria A, and Miller C. Melanocyte:keratinocyte Ratio and the Presence of Pagetoid Melanocytes in Actinic Keratosis and Squamous Cell Carcinoma in Situ Compared to Perilesional Sun-Damaged Skin. Abstract, 2009 ASDS meeting, Phoenix, AZ.
  • Miller C, Gormley R, Groft C, and Kovarik C. High risk mucosal HPV types in digital SCC. Submitted.
  • Patel VI, Daniel S, Longo CR, Shrikhande GV, Scali ST, Czismadia E, Groft CM, Shukri T, Motley-Dore C, Ramsey HE, Fisher MD, Grey ST, Arvelo MB, Ferran C. A20, a modulator of smooth muscle cell proliferation and apoptosis, prevents and induces regression of neointimal hyperplasia. FASEB J. 2006 Jul;20(9):1418-30.
  • Groft CM, Burley SK. Recognition of eIF4G by Rotavirus NSP3 reveals a basis for mRNA circularization. Mol Cell. 2002 Jun;9(6):1273-1283.
  • Deo RC*, Groft CM*, Rajashankar KR, Burley SK. Recognition of the Rotavirus mRNA 3’ consensus by an asymmetric NSP3 homodimer. Cell. 2002 Jan;108(1):71-81. *Authors contributed equally.
  • Groft CM, Beckmann R, Sali A, Burley SK. Crystal structures of ribosome anti-association factor IF6. Nat Struct Biol. 2000 Dec;7(12):1156-64.
Browse available departments: